The Government of Alberta is responsible for negotiating and maintaining collective agreements with various public sector unions in the province. These agreements outline the terms and conditions of employment for unionized workers in areas such as education, health care, and public services.

Collective agreements are legally binding contracts between employers and unions that govern the rights and responsibilities of both parties. They establish various aspects of employment, including wages, benefits, work hours, job security, and dispute resolution processes.

The Government of Alberta is committed to negotiating fair and reasonable collective agreements that balance the interests of workers with the need for effective public services. When negotiating these agreements, the government takes into account factors such as economic conditions, budgetary constraints, and the public interest.

The collective bargaining process involves a series of negotiations between the government and union representatives. During this process, both sides present their proposals and engage in discussions and negotiations to reach a mutually acceptable agreement. Once an agreement is reached, it is ratified by both sides and becomes legally binding.

Collective agreements typically have a duration of two to four years, after which they must be renegotiated. The process of renegotiating a collective agreement often begins several months before the expiration of the current agreement.

One of the key benefits of collective agreements is that they provide stability and predictability for workers and employers alike. By establishing clear expectations and procedures, these agreements help to prevent labor disputes and ensure that workers are fairly compensated for their efforts.

Overall, collective agreements are an essential component of the relationship between the Government of Alberta and its public sector unions. They provide a framework for fair and productive labor relations, which helps to promote a healthy and prosperous society for all Albertans.